Jump to:
Sweepstakes Advantage Online Forum
November 22, 2009, 12:10:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
  SA Main   Home   Blogs Help Arcade Login Register  

Bookmark and Share
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this a Scam?  (Read 1033 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
fifi
SA Member
SA Bronze Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

aMember user




Ignore
« on: February 27, 2008, 01:29:18 AM »

I received an email wanting me to confirm my info for a digital camera,webcam and camcorder set. The response was from Computer--Giveaway.com. It states package is fully paid but it doesn't state from what contest and before I click to confirm I would like to know if there is a catch i.e. unexpected costs and if this is bogus. On any other win there wasn't a question of where it originated. Any help is greatly appreciated. Smile
Logged
jwjones102004
SA Member
SA Silver Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 01:48:23 AM »

Can't say 100% without seeing the email, but sounds very, very scammy. Did you check the headers on the email to see where it was actually from? Be careful with this one.  Smile
Logged
pmeek
Beautiful Oregon Coast
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20205




Mood:Happy
Happy

Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 04:26:47 PM »

 cry Sorry to say, but I think it is probably a scam. When I do a search for computer--giveaway.com I get that it is on a blacklist for spam. According to:   http://www.joewein.de/sw/dbl-update/2005-01-02.htm
 If it doesn't feel quite right it probably isn't. Trust your instincts.
Logged

sp00kyprincess
SA Member
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3

aMember user




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2009, 07:49:35 PM »

 error spam
Logged
zwriter
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8870



zWriter




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2009, 06:10:36 AM »

I absolutely hate those scammers!
Logged

Waving
Enter easy blog contest - Autographed Bobby Labonte gear - http://tinyurl.com/96askwin - Good Odds; Best of Luck
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!