Jump to:
Sweepstakes Advantage Online Forum
September 05, 2008, 02:03:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News: Get Help, Support or Just Talk about anything in SA Chat!
 
  SA Main   Home   Help Arcade Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this a Scam?  (Read 409 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
fifi
SA Member
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

aMember user


« on: February 27, 2008, 02:29:18 AM »

I received an email wanting me to confirm my info for a digital camera,webcam and camcorder set. The response was from Computer--Giveaway.com. It states package is fully paid but it doesn't state from what contest and before I click to confirm I would like to know if there is a catch i.e. unexpected costs and if this is bogus. On any other win there wasn't a question of where it originated. Any help is greatly appreciated. Smile
Logged
jwjones102004
SA Member
SA Silver Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125


« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 02:48:23 AM »

Can't say 100% without seeing the email, but sounds very, very scammy. Did you check the headers on the email to see where it was actually from? Be careful with this one.  Smile
Logged
pmeek
Beautiful Oregon Coast
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14508


Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?


« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 05:26:47 PM »

 cry Sorry to say, but I think it is probably a scam. When I do a search for computer--giveaway.com I get that it is on a blacklist for spam. According to:   http://www.joewein.de/sw/dbl-update/2005-01-02.htm
 If it doesn't feel quite right it probably isn't. Trust your instincts.
Logged

Sweepstakes Advantage Online Forum
   

 Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.5 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!