MyCSSMenu Save Document Sweepstakes Advantage Online Forum
May 23, 2012, 06:31:29 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
  Sweepstakes   Home   Blogs Help Arcade Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   sort down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this real?  (Read 643 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
melssweepstakes
SA Member
SA Bronze Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 33




Mood:Hyper
Hyper

aMember user




Ignore
« on: January 20, 2011, 01:16:29 AM »

I'm new to the whole sweeping and found some things in my spam folder. i cannot tell which is real and which is fake?  cry


To: melssweepstakes@yahoo.com

Re: JetBlue Airline Tickets.     
     
Dear melssweepstakes@yahoo.com,

This is NOT a mistake. You have a chance to claim $500.00 JetBlue Airline Tickets. You could be on the flight as soon as next month. Proceed here:  http://33331781.click-it-2-get-it.com/c.php?aid=93&lid=6189444

or

This message is for melssweepstakes@yahoo.com.
Congratulations!  You have won the new Dell Studio!  Please verify your information to expedite speedy delivery.
http://151723346.free-credit-links.com/c.php?aid=42&lid=8180646464


or



melssweepstakes@yahoo.com,
Thank you! We think you will be pleased with your new 4G!
Pending Tracking [A65471-65891-1355Tghh]

View your status here.

Congratulations!
Tanya Martin



Thank You!
Daniel Scott




I can't tell if it's real or not


I'm so confused i get excited but I'm scared to click on anything thinking I will get a virus on my new computer. Can anyone help?







Logged
lidarkside
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6574




Mood:Loved
Loved




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 01:52:59 AM »

Real prize notifications do not address them to "______________@yahoo.com".  They use your real name.  They also don't have you click on some link going to some obscure webpage.

Prize notifications request you reply directly to the email or fill out an attachment to mail, fax, or email in.  They also supply you with the person's name of whom is contacting you and their direct contact information including the company name.

The subject line will also have an appropriate heading.
Logged
pmeek
Beautiful Oregon Coast
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 35595




Mood:Happy
Happy

Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 02:09:50 AM »

  headbang lidarkside is totally correct and her advise on spotting a real winning email is right on.  It really is difficult starting out sorting thru some of these, but never hesitate to ask before sending out your information. Someone is almost always available to help you. Best of luck to you in getting a real winning message! 
Logged
melssweepstakes
SA Member
SA Bronze Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 33




Mood:Hyper
Hyper

aMember user




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 03:06:52 AM »

  headbang lidarkside is totally correct and her advise on spotting a real winning email is right on.  It really is difficult starting out sorting thru some of these, but never hesitate to ask before sending out your information. Someone is almost always available to help you. Best of luck to you in getting a real winning message! 

Thanks everyone I will watch what I click on hopefully I win something!
Logged
Pages: [1]   sort up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!