MyCSSMenu Save Document Sweepstakes Advantage Online Forum
May 24, 2012, 04:29:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
  Sweepstakes   Home   Blogs Help Arcade Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   sort down
  Print  
Author Topic: Please Be Careful! The Email Spam Scammers Are After you!  (Read 2298 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
juliekk
SA Member
SA Bronze Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 65



aMember user




Ignore
« on: August 13, 2008, 06:44:07 AM »

In the last three days I've received over ten emails telling me I'd won a lottery, a donation, etc... What is really scarry about some of these emails is that they use real company names and email such as chevron.com, and nokiamobile@rocketdog.com. Here is one I received a few days ago:

NOKIA MOBILE PROMO DRAW HEADQUATERS
LIVERPOOL, L70 1NL
UNITED KINGDOM
Ref No: UK/9420X2/68
Batch No: 074/05/ZY369

********WINNING NOTIFICATION********

We happily announce to you the draw (#1198) of the  NOKIA MOBILE PROMO
EMAIL DRAW; online International program held 1ST AUGUST 2008.Your e-mail
address with Serial number 5368/06 drew the lucky numbers: 17/33-45. Your
email won you a NOKIA N95 & £1,500,000.00 Great British Pounds.

The selection process was carried out through random selection in our
computerized email selection machine (TOPAZ). Also be informed that you
will only be chosen to receive the donation once, which means that
subsequent yearly donation will not get to you again. Take time and
thought in spending the donation wisely on something that will last you a
long time.

TO FILE FOR YOUR CLAIM, DO CONTACT YOUR CLAIMS AGENT
AT THE NOKIA MOBILE TOWER

Mr. Pule Robert
Head Winning Claims Dept
Official Email:promo_nokiamobile@rocketmail.com

You are to provide the following which are needed to process your winning
claim
To your Claims Agent for verification.

1. NAME................ 2. AGE/SEX.............
3. ADDRESS.......... 4. OCCUPATION........
5. PHONE NO........ 6. COUNTRY..............

Regards
Mike Vilasma


These scans always want your occupation. Can anyone tell me why that is? Anyway, be careful with your the information you give out to people.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 06:49:56 AM by juliekk » Logged
zwriter
Plus
SA Gold Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21136



zWriter




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 08:20:58 AM »

Thanks for the heads up!
I am always on the alert.
Logged
pmeek
Beautiful Oregon Coast
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 35598




Mood:Happy
Happy

Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 10:41:13 AM »

 laughing  I wish I was only getting 10 a day!! My email box is full of these scams everyday.
Logged
juliekk
SA Member
SA Bronze Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 65



aMember user




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 12:52:02 PM »

Well, I guess I spoke to soon because I just checked email, and I've got five more.  cussing
Logged
pinkgotnerfed
SA Member
SA Silver Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160

aMember user




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2008, 08:14:54 AM »

i got a similar email from the motorolla company. like yours the rep had robert in his name and was based in england. i called up the company because i wasnt sure.
Logged
tharedhead
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097




Mood:Indescribable
Indescribable

I am a cabbage


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2008, 08:31:36 AM »

They do level off. The main email I use for sweeping (since 1999) only gets about 200 of those a day, max. So there is a top limit on them.
Logged
bndavis
SA Member
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

aMember user




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2009, 05:33:24 AM »

Hi, I just received one of these from ukpowerballonlinegames.com.
I don't remember entering this and they say for security reasons to keep it quiet.
They are also from the UK and using (TOPAZ) to pick the winning numbers.
It all looks legit but seems suspicious.
How do we know if it's legitimate or not???

Logged
lidarkside
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6574




Mood:Loved
Loved




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2009, 05:41:47 AM »

I get lots of these all the time.  I just delete them--not much else you can do about it.
Logged
Amy Shulkusky
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 18484




Mood:Mischievous
Mischievous




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2009, 06:21:19 AM »

Hi, I just received one of these from ukpowerballonlinegames.com.
I don't remember entering this and they say for security reasons to keep it quiet.
They are also from the UK and using (TOPAZ) to pick the winning numbers.
It all looks legit but seems suspicious.
How do we know if it's legitimate or not???



Check out our Reported Scams forum:
http://www.sweepsadvantage.com/smf/reported-scams-b16.0/

I use OE {Outlook Express} and use the tools to check suspicious emails & to block them
Logged
Pages: [1]   sort up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!