Sweepstakes Advantage Online Forum
Jump to:
March 11, 2010, 02:27:17 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
  SA Main   Home   Blogs Help Arcade Login Register  

Bookmark and Share
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SCAM?????  (Read 409 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
piglet73
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1848



aMember user




Ignore
« on: August 03, 2009, 04:01:46 AM »

I just received this email. I think it's a joke but....

Your email address has won you the sum of one Million British Pounds in the
Microsoft United Kingdom 2009 Sweep Stakes promotion.Send your Names:,Contact
Address:,and Telephone numbers: to your claims agent Andy johnson for
redemption of prize thank you
Contact Email:msoft05@live.com

Anyone get the same?
Logged
tharedhead
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2115




Mood:Indescribable
Indescribable

I am a cabbage


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 04:16:25 AM »

That is a scam. My favorite one was the time I won one million Bhat and they expected me to fly to Thailand and collect it and be "set for life". One million Bhat is about $30,000. That would be a short life... You get used to these after a while, and  get so you can can recognize them easily.
Logged

Veritas mentis Dei scio
pmeek
Beautiful Oregon Coast
SA Mods
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21418




Mood:Happy
Happy

Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 04:18:32 AM »

 Waving It's not much of a joke, but it is a scam.
Logged

Vote DAILY for Sweepstakes Advantage as a top freebie site:
http://www.soprano.com/vote/vote.asp?linkno=2072

lidarkside
Plus
SA Gold Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5911




Mood:Loved
Loved




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2009, 04:18:55 AM »

Scam, scam, scam!  I get all sorts of these everyday.  They look nothing like a real prize notification, and they're riddled with errors.  Plus, how can you win something you didn't enter! laughing
Logged

  The word "Lucky" is not found in the Christian vocabulary!  Whining and complaining are not options!
piglet73
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1848



aMember user




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2009, 04:48:14 AM »

LOL Thanks everyone! I kinda figured it was a scam.
Logged
johnnyz
Plus
SA Gold Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6356






Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2009, 06:49:37 AM »

1 000 000 Thai baht = 29 403 U.S. dollars
Logged

tharedhead
SA Member
SA Gold Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2115




Mood:Indescribable
Indescribable

I am a cabbage


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2009, 07:36:26 AM »

1 000 000 Thai baht = 29 403 U.S. dollars

I better have a short life if that is supposed to last! Of course if I was dumb enough to fly to Thailand to collect it, I probably would have a VERY short life.
They are renting houses now, too
http://chronicle.augusta.com/stories/2009/07/23/met_541778.shtml

Quote
According to a warning issued Wednesday by the FBI's Columbia field office, a person identified as Nigerian is taking homes listed for sale on other public search sites and is posting them on Craigslist, stating that they are for rent and asking for up-front money.

"After the posting is listed, unsuspecting individuals contact the poster, who is Nigerian, for more information on the 'rental,' " the release states. "The Nigerian scammer will state that they had to leave the country very quickly to do missionary or contract work in Africa and were unable to rent their house before leaving, therefore they have to take care of this remotely.
The FBI warning states the Nigerian person then sends the prospective renter an application and asks for the first and last month's rent to be sent through Western Union. The renter is then told that if they qualify, the keys to the home will be sent to them.

"

Logged

Veritas mentis Dei scio
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!